FCS playoff brackets announced

Christopher Walsh

Staff member
… and for those wondering, no Austin Peay. Eight wins is sort of the magic number to get in and the Governors had seven.

Per the NCAA:

INDIANAPOLIS —The field of 24 teams competing for the 2022 NCAA Division I Football Championship was announced today by the NCAA Division I Football Championship Committee.

South Dakota State (10-1), winners of the Missouri Valley Football Conference, earned the top seed in their 11th consecutive appearance in the championship. The Jackrabbits went undefeated against FCS competition defeating all 10 opponents on their schedule.

Sacramento State (11-0) is the number two seed earning the automatic qualifying berth from the Big Sky Conference. The Hornets are making their third overall appearance after going undefeated in their conference for the second year in a row.

MORE: Click or tap here for the full 2022 FCS playoff selections release